[Art News]      [Submit]      [BOOST News]

Zelman Symphony Orchestra: Winter Daydreams

BY Zelman Symphony | 06-Feb-2016
Hoang Pham, Mark Shiell, Zelman Symphony Orchestra. Program: Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No. 1, Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 1 Winter Daydreams.
Venue: Eldon Hogan Performing Arts Centre, Xavier College
Address: 23 Charles Street, Kew
Date: Saturday 5th March
Time: 8:00 PM
Ticket: Adult $37, Concession $32, Child (up to 16) $7
Buy / Ticket: http://zelmansymphony.org.au/Concerts/Concerts
Web: http://zelmansymphony.org.au/Concerts/Concerts
EMail: publicity@zelmansymphony.org.au
We begin our 2016 season with a spectacular combination of Tchaikovsky Firsts. His thrilling first piano concerto, once considered 'unplayable', sits alongside his beautiful, evocative and exciting first symphony.

Tchaikovsky’s first piano concerto is amongst the best known of all piano concertos and one of his most popular works. We are delighted to welcome back Hoang Pham, one of Australia's most exciting young musicians, to play the concerto he performed so brilliantly to win the 2013 Symphony Australia Young Performer of the Year Award. We enjoyed playing Beethoven’s Emperor Concerto with him so much that we couldn’t wait to get him back!

Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 1, Winter Daydreams, is his earliest notable composition - in 1883, he wrote that "although it is in many ways very immature, yet fundamentally it has more substance and is better than many of my other more mature works."

Mark Shiell will present a pre-concert talk in the auditorium commencing 7.30pm.