[Art News]      [Submit]      [BOOST News]

YAJA 2016 Winners Announced

BY YAJA | 22-Nov-2016
Thanks to the efforts of our judging panel of experts in journalism and media, we can now announce the winners of the 2016. #YAJA


Guardians of the Hermitage
By Julia Shimf from St. Petersburg State University, St. Petersburg, Russia
Read article


Tickled: When the Funniest Hobby turns into your worst Nightmare
By Ambre Sachet, Concordia University, Montreal, Canada
Read article


Clothes, Cash, Conscious Consumption
By Madeleine Clarke, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia
Read article

Editors' Choice:

Women in Ancient Times
By Melina Livermore, St. Lawrence College, Canada
Read article

People's Choice:

"Fuck fear, Let's Dance": The fearless face behind the "design revolution" of Malaysia
By Abhinay Lakshman, University of Newcastle, Australia
Read article

Big thank you also to everyone who participated. Our judges were overall very impressed by the high quality of all the entries.

Keep up the good work. Entries for 2017 are open now!


...to all of the students and recent graduates, who put in the extra effort to contribute to the YAJA, we say Thank You.

...to our first ever entrant Alice Anne Psaltis from University of Queensland, for getting the ball rolling, we say Thank You.

...to our Ambassadors, who helped spread the word on campus, in the media and online, we say Thank You.

...to all the publications, university staff, student media and encouraging people who believe in what we do, we say Thank You.


goes to our Judging Panel members for sharing their expertise and making the 2016 YAJA such a success:

Dr Nicole Anae, Senior Lecturer in Literary and Cultural Studies, Central Queensland University

Kevin Brianton, Lecturer in Strategic Communication, Head of discipline, La Trobe University

Mark Civitella, Lecturer in Communication, La Trobe University

Dr John Cokley, Adjunct Associate Professor, Griffith University

Dr Kayt Davies, Journalist and Academic, Edith Cowan University

Steinar Ellingsen, Lecturer in Communication and Media , La Trobe University

Cameron Pegg, Executive Officer – Deputy Vice Chancellor (Engagement), Griffith University

Maria Schaller, Radio Producer at Special Broadcasting Service (SBS), Australia

Bruce Woolley, Award-winning Journalist and Lecturer, University of Queensland

Tim Yee, Writer, Content Marketer and Creative Arts Editor, Spitpress

Express your interest to join our judging panel for the 2017 YAJA.