[Art News]      [Submit]      [BOOST News]

William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize: Finalists announced!

BY Monash Gallery of Art | 31-Aug-2017
Some of Australia’s best photographers are in the running for the prestigious $30,000 William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize for 2017. This year’s eminent judging panel, artist and educator Susan Fereday, architect and collector Corbett Lyon, and MGA Senior Curator Stephen Zagala have selected 59 photographs from a record 897 entries (+43% on 2016), the largest number received in the history of the prize. #bownessprize #australianphotography #artprize #australianhomeofphotography #contemporaryphotography #acquisitiveprize #mgafoundation #monashgalleryofart
Venue: Monash Gallery of Art
Address: 860 Ferntree Gully Road WHEELERS HILL VIC 3150
Date: Exhibition: 14 October - 26 November 2017
Web: https://www.mga.org.au/bowness-prize
: https://www.facebook.com/Bowness.Photography.Prize/
: https://www.instagram.com/mga_photography/
: https://twitter.com/MGA_photography
EMail: bowness@monash.vic.gov.au
Call: 03 8544 0500
Christian THOMPSON
Purified by fire 2017 from the series Lake dolly chromogenic print 120.0 x 120.0 cm
courtesy of the artist and Michael Reid (Sydney + Berlin)
The Bowness Photography Prize is non-thematic and this year entries reveal the diversity of Australian photographic practice. Gender diversity, LGBTQI rights, repatriation of indigenous remains, bio-diversity in first nations and drone photography are some of the powerful thematic concerns explored by shortlisted finalists.

‘We were greatly impressed with the quality of submissions to the Bowness Photography Prize this year’ said Fereday. ‘Choosing works was tough – there were enough strong photographs to fill several shows. Ultimately we decided to keep two things in mind. Firstly, that the prize is acquisitive this year; we are looking for truly outstanding works. Secondly, we hope the exhibition reflects the breadth of current practice, providing a kind of cross-section of what people are doing. There is an enormous diversity in engagement and ambition with the medium right now. Photography is in a really healthy place.’

MGA Senior Curator, Stephen Zagala said, ‘I’m struck by a certain primitivism in this year’s selection; herbal plant-heads, totemic ciphers, ritualistic gestures, and shamans conjuring meaning from photography’s chemical processes. It is a shortlist that reminds me of photography’s power to re-invent the real.’

Finalists: Hoda Afshar, Tim Allen, Rushdi Anwar, Kris Arnold, Robert Ashton, Peter Barnes, Del Kathryn Barton, Colin Batrouney, Elaine Batton, Olga Bennett, Vanessa Bertagnole, Tom Blachford, Polly Borland, Peter Bratuskins, Eric Bridgeman, Jane Burton, Elaine Campaner, Stuart Chape, Danica Chappell, Peta Clancy, Emilio Cresciani, Gerwyn Davies, Lauren Dunn, Tanya Maria Dyhin, Amos Gebhardt, Silvi Glattauer, Robert Hague, Rhett Hammerton, Alana Holmberg, Eliza Hutchison, Leah King-Smith, Peter Lambropoulos, Helga Leunig née Salwerowicz, Jon Lewis, Janelle Low, Tayla Martin, Kent Morris, Nasim Nasr, Will Nolan, Jill Orr and Christina Simons, Polixeni Papapetrou, Izabela Pluta, Jenny Pollak, Clare Rae, Kate Robertson, David Rosetzky, Jo Scicluna, Damien Shen, Matthew Sleeth, David Stephenson and Martin Walch, Suellen Symons, Christian Thompson, Tobias Titz, James Tylor, Henri van Noordenburg, Justine Varga, Lisa Walker, Amanda Williams, Robin Williams