Tom Malone Prize 2021

Art Gallery of WA | 25-May-2021
Glass is one of the most exciting and dynamic art forms in this country. It is a uniquely captivating medium, capable of almost endless transformation. @artgallerywa #artgallerywa #myagwamoment @agwatommaloneprize #tommaloneprize
Venue: Art Gallery of WA
Address: Perth Cultural Centre, Perth
Date: 29 May “ 19 July 2021
Time: 10am-5pm, Wed - Mon, closed Tue
Ticket: FREE
Call: +61 8 9492 6600
Ayano Yoshizumi ICON #2010 2020. Mould blowing, hot sculpting, enamelling, cold painting, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist. © Ayano Yoshizumi, 2020. Photo: Pippy Mount.
Glass provides a perfect vehicle for the exploration of a range of themes, from the personal to the observational, and Australian makers are some of the world leaders in the medium.

The Tom Malone Prize is a highly respected national event within the Australian glass arts community and it has played an integral role in the Gallery's acquisition of works by Australia's most inspiring, innovative and accomplished artists working in this art form.

The 2021 Prize features the work of: Kate Baker (NSW), Clare Belfrage (SA), Hannah Gason (ACT), Marcel Hoogstad Hay (SA), Rita Kellaway (SA), Gerry King (SA), Jennifer Kemarre Martiniello (ACT), Peter Kovacsy (WA), Jeremy Lepisto (NSW), Madeline Prowd (SA), Kirstie Rea (NSW), Ayano Yoshizumi (SA) and Madisyn Zabel (ACT).

These thirteen shortlisted works demonstrate how our nation's glass artists continue to invent and reinvent, to challenge themselves technically, and to find new frameworks to distil human experience in accessible and enlivening ways.

The winner of the $15,000 acquisitive prize will be announced June 2021.

About The Tom Malone Prize

An acquisitive prize, each year's winning entrant is awarded $15,000 and their work becomes a part of the State Art Collection where it joins works by previous winners: Clare Belfrage, Gabriella Bisetto, Charles Butcher, Cobi Cockburn, Brian Corr, Mel Douglas, Mark Eliott, Deirdre Feeney, Kevin Gordon, Marc Leib, Jessica Loughlin, Tom Moore, Nick Mount and Benjamin Sewell.

Now in its 19th year, the Tom Malone Prize continues with the generous support of Ms Sheryl Grimwood, AGWA Foundation Benefactor.

Newsletter Sign Up

Join Our Growing Community

ART NEWS PORTAL is a global crowd sourced art news feed.
Everyone is welcome to share their art and culture related news.