[Art News]      [Submit]      [BOOST News]

TMO Met Series 5 Concert promises energy and romance!

BY Geoff Sirmai | 10-Aug-2012
The Metropolitan Orchestra (TMO) continues its sensational 2012 season on September 15 and 16 with something old (and romantic) plus something new (and spirited!) in their latest MET Series orchestral concert.
Ticket: 35 / $30 concession / $15 children under 12
Buy / Ticket: www.metorchestra.com.au/tickets
Web: www.metorchestra.com.au
Call: 1300 150 465

Following its August blockbuster concerts with David Helfgott and the “Shine” Concerto (“Rachmaninoff Piano Concert No. 3”), TMO will feature well-known cellist Patrick Murphy performing Camille Saint-Saëns much loved Cello Concerto No 1.

Patrick is a founding member of the Tankstream Quartet (now Australian String Quartet), regular performer with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra and now holds the position of Cello Performance Fellow at the University of Queensland’s School of Music.

The September MET Series program will also feature a premiere work of the original Australian composition titled ‘Air and the Void’ by vibrant composer and Principal Percussionist of Queensland Symphony Orchestra, David Montgomery.

Having works commissioned by Opera Queensland, Queensland Theatre Company, La Boite Theatre, Queensland Symphony, Isorhythmos and ABC Radio, Montgomery’s ‘Air and the Void' takes as its point of departure the final chapters in Miyamoto Musashi's book 'Go Rin No Sho' (translated as 'The Book of Five Rings') and is a comment on the idea of moving towards separation from one's body.

Wrapping up this wonderful program is another rarely performed orchestral highlight being Mendelssohn’s Symphony no 1. Written at the young age of 15, Symphony no 1 is indubitably a young man’s creation: energetic, muscular and bursting with rambunctious high spirits.

MET SERIES 5: Patrick Murphy plays Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto
Saturday 15 September 8pm: Independent Theatre, North Sydney
Sunday 16 September 3pm: Balmain Town Hall

MONTGOMERY Air and the Void – Premiere
SAINT-SAENS Cello Concerto no 1 - Cello: Patrick Murphy
MENDELSSOHN Symphony no 1

Concert presented by David Montgomery, composer of Air and the Void

Tickets: $35 / $30 concession / $15 children under 12
Bookings: www.metorchestra.com.au/tickets or call 1300 150 465
Further information: www.metorchestra.com.au General phone inquiries: 02 80077131