Sydney Symphony Orchestra launches new Playlist concert series at City Recital Hall

Published by: Caitlin Benetatos | 8-Mar-2016
The Sydney Symphony Orchestra has handed over the reins to three of its musicians to program some of their favourite music for a brand new concert series premiering next week at Sydney's iconic City Recital Hall. Playlist will see SSO Assistant Concertmaster Lerida Delbridge, Principal Timpani Rick Miller and Principal Cor Anglais Alexandre Oguey each present their own concert, performing popular works by renowned composers "“ from JS Bach and Mozart to Copland and Schoenberg "“ before meeting audiences at the bar afterwards. @sydsymph #sydneysymphony
Venue: City Recital Hall
Date: Tue 15 Mar, 6.30pm
Ticket: $49
Playlist has been created to give both newcomers to classical music and regular SSO concert-goers a more intimate experience of the orchestra by giving them the opportunity to learn more about the musicians and meet them after the concert. The series includes three informal, hour-long concerts each featuring a different SSO musician, who will take the audience on a journey through the music that has touched and inspired them throughout their lives. The featured musician will be accompanied on-stage by their colleagues from the Orchestra.

Assistant Concertmaster Lerida Delbridge will be the first to present her Playlist concert on Tuesday 15 March. She has selected music that has shaped key moments in her life, including the music that made her first fall in love with the violin when she was still in primary school.

"One of the pieces I've chosen is the Bach Double Violin Concerto. I first played it when I was nine years old, so it's been with me for a very, very long time," Delbridge says. "I really love exploring pieces that I played when I was younger as it gets me thinking about where I was then, where I am now, and how I can bring some of that youthful exuberance to my performance of that same piece in my thirties."

One of the aspects that Delbridge is most looking forward to ahead of her Playlist concert is seeing the audience's reaction to the performance.

"There's something really special about a whole group of individuals in a room both onstage and in the audience, listening and creating music together," Delbridge says. "An audience is never passive. The performers onstage can always feel the response of the audience and there's something very special about everyone sharing in the moment of making the music."

Lerida's Playlist

Tue 15 Mar, 6.30pm
City Recital Hall

MENDELSSOHN Sinfonia No.9 (Swiss): 1st movement
FAURÉ Requiem: Pie Jesu
COPLAND Appalachian Spring: Shaker Theme
JS BACH Double Violin Concerto, BWV 1043: 1st movement
MAHLER Adagietto from Symphony No.5

Lerida Delbridge presenter & violin
Andrew Haveron violin-director
Kate Amos soprano
Tickets: $49

Newsletter Sign Up

Join Our Growing Community

ART NEWS PORTAL is a global crowd sourced art news feed.
Everyone is welcome to share their art and culture related news.