A crowd sourced online art news feed

[Art News List]   [Submit News]   [BOOST News]

Sumptuous TMO strings with Guitar and Saxophone Duo

BY Event Manager | 12-Jun-2017
The Metropolitan Orchestra will highlight some of the best known string repertoire from Holst, Piazzolla, Grieg and Mendelssohn in their Sumptuous Strings performance on July 15. Led by Award Winning Conductor Sarah-Grace Williams, the performance will also include a unique World Premiere featuring guitar and saxophone.
The Metropolitan Orchestra’s third Met Concert for 2017 on July 15th will feature some of the best known string classics in addition to the unique pairing of Saxophone and Guitar with String Orchestra in TMO's second World Premiere for this year.

In this Sumptuous Strings performance, The Metropolitan Orchestra String Section led by Chief Conductor and Artistic Director Sarah-Grace Williams will take the audience on a journey of luscious depth and emotion within the warm surrounds of the Sydney Congress Hall on a chilly Sydney winters night.

The performance will begin with Samuel Barber’s iconic and mournful Adagio for Strings followed by Gustav Holst’s famous St Paul’s Suite. Piazzolla’s Double Concerto was originally written for Bandoneon and Guitar, but for this performance it has been excitingly re-arranged for Saxophone and Guitar in what will be a very special world premiere performance when Duo Histoire join with The Metropolitan Orchestra.

“It is wonderful to again feature some of Australia’s brightest soloists with TMO. This performance with the rare pairing of Saxophone and Guitar as arranged by Nicholas Russoniello from Duo Histoire will prove a wonderful world premiere event and our second world premiere for this year. Combining this latin inspired work with the sumptuous sounds of our string section will ensure a night of pure musical joy. I can’t wait to share this unique musical event with our audience,” said Sarah-Grace Williams, TMO Artistic Director and Chief Conductor.

Rounding out the program of sensational string compositions will be Edvard Grieg’s much adored Holberg Suite and Felix Mendelssohn’s single movement String Symphony Number 10, which he wrote at the tender age of only 14. This concert of audience favourites will be TMO’s first within the warm surrounds of the Sydney Congress Hall.

Tickets are available by visiting www.metorchestra.com.au/tickets or call (02) 8004-3472.

Presented by Cruiseco

BARBER Adagio for Strings
HOLST St. Paul’s Suite
PIAZZOLLA Double Concerto arr: Duo Histoire World Premiere
GRIEG Holberg Suite
MENDELSSOHN String Symphony #10
Conductor: Sarah-Grace Williams
Soloists: Duo Histoire (Nicholas Russoniello, Saxophone & Murilo Tanouye, Guitar)

Saturday 15 July, 8pm
Sydney Congress Hall
140 Elizabeth Street, Sydney
Bookings: www.metorchestra.com.au/tickets
Email: publicity@metorchestra.com.au
Phone: (02) 8004-3472

Adult: $58
Concession: $35
Student: $20
Child (Age 7-15): $15
Under 7 Free but may need to sit on carer's lap