Stunning virtuosic duo Amy Dickson & Colin Currie to premiere Ross Edwards' double concerto

Published by: Caitlin Benetatos | 9-Jun-2016
Virtuosic duo Amy Dickson and Colin Currie join the Sydney Symphony Orchestra for world premiere of new work by Australian composer Ross Edwards. Two of the world's greatest classical music talents, Australian saxophonist Amy Dickson and Scottish percussionist Colin Currie, will join forces next month to perform the world premiere of Ross Edwards' new double concerto, Frog and Star Cycle, with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra on 7-11 July. @sydsymph #sydneysymphony @sydneysymphonyorchestra
Edwards, who is regarded as one of Australia's preeminent and most influential composers, has specifically written Frog and Star Cycle to be performed by Dickson and Currie and is filled with praise for the exceptionally talented pair.

"Amy is an extraordinary performer. She's full of enthusiasm, game for anything and also just a lovely person to work with," Edwards says. "This is the first time I've worked with Colin but I've heard him perform many times and he's just a phenomenon "“ absolutely amazing and extraordinarily athletic. And best of all, like Amy, he likes a challenge "“ nothing's too difficult!"

Dickson, who shares a special friendship with Edwards and has collaborated with him on a number of compositions - including the premiere of his saxophone concerto Full Moon Dances - approached the composer to write the double concerto. Like many of Edwards' other works, Frog and Star Cycle is inspired by nature and will require the soloists to embody spiritual 'characters'.

"Amy will perform the role of the serene Earth Mother, a role she's become accustomed to performing in my music, and as such will be dressed in a long white gown," Edwards says. "Colin will take on the role of the Shaman "“ a healer with access to the spirit world and a strong affiliation with frogs. He's very excited to see the costume that we come up with for him!"

Frog and Star Cycle has been commissioned by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra with the generous support Andrew Kaldor AM and Renata Kaldor AO.

Concert details

Mahler 4: Sounds of Heaven
Concert Hall, Sydney Opera House
Thu 7 Jul, 1.30pm
Fri 8 Jul, 8pm
Sat 9 Jul, 2pm
Mon 11 Jul, 7pm
EDWARDS Frog and Star Cycle (Premiere)
MAHLER Symphony No.4

Lothar Koenigs conductor
Sylvia Schwartz soprano
Amy Dickson saxophone
Colin Currie percussion

Tickets: $39-$134
Bookings through Sydney Symphony Orchestra 9am "“ 5pm Monday to Friday on 8215 4600 or select your own seat at:

Newsletter Sign Up

Join Our Growing Community

ART NEWS PORTAL is a global crowd sourced art news feed.
Everyone is welcome to share their art and culture related news.