[Art News List]   [Submit News]   [BOOST News]

Alyce Platt Funny Little World - A New Album from Australia's Favourite Gal

BY PBP | 21-Oct-2015
One of Australia’s favourite gals, Alyce Platt beckons us into her Funny Little World, her stunning new album, which will be launched November 12 at Memo Music Hall, St Kilda.
Alyce Platt Funny Little World Album launch Thursday 12 November, 8pm @ Memo Music Hall, St Kilda Album available from 6 November through JB HiFi and independent stores, iTunes and online Featuring some of Melbourne's finest musicians including Stephen Hadley, Claude Carranza, Jack Howard, Clare Moore, Helen Mountfort, Jex Saarelhat, Pete Farnan, Jen Anderson and many more… One of Australia’s favourite gals, Alyce Platt beckons us into her Funny Little World, her stunning new album, which will be launched November 12 at Memo Music Hall, St Kilda.

Retro sounds, haunting melodies and frolicking beats flavour Funny Little World, the first studio recording for the Melbourne based singer songwriter, actor and artist since her acclaimed 2004 album, Beautiful Death.

Of the new album’s 14 tracks, ten sultry originals have been penned by Alyce, revealing her fascination with sophisticated 1960’s European pop music. In her own unique style, she has also reworked covers from some of her favourite artists of the genre including Jacques Brel’s Amsterdam, Verdelle Smith’s Tar and Cement, Velvet Underground’s Pale Blue Eyes and Linda Ronstadt’s Different Drum, offering another beautiful layer to the rich, retro, melancholy sound.

The album features guest appearances from many of the FISH-SHOP COLLECTIVE – the dazzling array of some of Melbourne’s finest contemporary musicians who have formed the interchangeable, three piece band for Alyce’s ever popular three year residency at St Kilda’s famous Claypots Restaurant and Bar. Led by Stephen Hadley, musicians Claude Carranza (Black Sorrows, Kids in the Kitchen), Bruce Haymes (Paul Kelly), Jack Howard (Hunters and Collectors), Clare Moore (Moodists, Dave Graney) and Jen Anderson (Archie Roach, Tim Rogers) make up the FISH-SHOP COLLECTIVE. As well as appearing on the album, they will join Alyce on stage at the album launch with an extended line-up including Helen Mountfort (My Friend The Chocolate Cake), Jex Saarelhat (Renee Geyer, Vince Jones), Pete Farnan (Boom Crash Opera) and Roger Bergodaz (Lost Ragas).

“I am over the moon with gratitude for all the talented musicians who played on the album, for the magic and creativity they brought and their generosity of spirit. I am very happy and very proud of what we have created,” said Alyce of the album.

In addition to the Album launch, Alyce is also planning a series of live performances throughout Australia in 2016 to support the Funny Little World release. ABOUT ALYCE: Held in genuine affection by the public for her years on national television, Alyce is also highly regarded by her peers as a singer, songwriter and recording artist. She released the EP Cowboys In The Attic (2000) with Pete Farnan from Boom Crash Opera, which sparked international interest leading to gigs at the ‘Mink’ and ‘The Gig’ on Melrose in L.A; Beautiful Death (2004) with Melbourne musician J.P.Shilo of the Hungry Ghost and Live from the Vault (2005). Her singing career has been varied and unique, she has been special guest performer at many events around Australia and appeared alongside such luminaries as Hugh Jackman. She also toured with the Chantoozies and has fronted many of her own bands as well as singing as a regular on Hey Hey it’s Saturday.

Album Tracks

1. Broken (Alyce Platt/Pete Farnan)
2. Da Da Da (Alyce Platt)
3. Funny Little World (Alyce Platt)
4. Cowboys In The Attic (Alyce Platt/Pete Farnan)
5. Pale Blue Eyes (Lou Reed)
6. Someone’s Daughter (Alyce Platt)
7. Glow (Alyce Platt)
8. Tar and Cement (Paul Vance, Lee Pockriss, Luciano Beretta, Michele Del Prete and Adriano Celentano) 9. Black Dog (Alyce Platt)
10. I Like Your Face (Alyce Platt)
11. Heavens Zone (Alyce Platt)
12. The Colour Red Mix (Alyce Platt/M Greig)
13. Amsterdam (Jacques Brel)
14. Different Drum (Michael Nesmith)
Funny Little World is available from November 6 through JB HiFi, independent record stores, iTunes, online at AlycePlatt.com or facebook

RECORDED and MIXED: Tender Trap Studios Northcote, Vic, Australia ENGINEER: Roger Bergodaz
PRODUCED BY: Alyce Platt, Stephen Hadley, Roger Bergodaz, and Claude Carranza


What: Alyce Platt’s Funny Little World Album Launch
When: Thursday 12 November, doors open 8pm, band on stage 8.30pm Where: Memo Music Hall – 90 Acland Street, St Kilda Tickets: $25 plus 60c booking fee per ticket www.memomusichall.com.au or $27 at the door click here for bookings AlycePlattAlbumLaunch
More Information: www. alyceplatt.com and facebook