2016 Finalists announced for The SUBSTATION Contemporary Art Prize

Published by: PBP | 2-Sep-2016
2016 finalists announced for The SUBSTATION Contemporary Art Prize Exhibition Thursday 8 September Through to 8 October. @thesubstation_ #TheSubstationNewport
Address: 1 Market Street Newport VIC
Date: Opening 8 September through to 8 October
Time: Opening Night: 6.30pm to 10.00pm , Exhibition Tuesday to Saturday 11am "“ 5pm
Ticket: Free
Web: www.thesubstation.org.au
: https://www.facebook.com/TheSubstationNewport/
: https://twitter.com/thesubstation_
: https://www.instagram.com/thesubstation/
EMail: info@thesubstation.org.au
Call: (03) 9391 1110
Twenty seven contemporary artworks spanning metal laser etchings, video and sound projection, sculpture, printed canvas and other innovative art practices have been selected to embellish the industrial spaces of The SUBSTATION as part of The SUBSTATION Contemporary Art Prize (SCAP) exhibition.

Established in 2011 to encourage and showcase the best current Australian contemporary arts practice across all mediums/genres, SCAP received 217 entries from around the country. The 27 finalists selected to exhibit, represent a major survey of the current spectrum of contemporary Australian art practice.

On Thursday 8 September, the winning Australian resident artist will be announced at the exhibition opening and will receive a non"“acquisitive major prize of $10,000 (sponsored by Metro). A second artist from Melbourne's Greater Western Suburbs will be announced as the recipient of The Westie Award receiving a $2,000 cash prize (sponsored by Hobsons Bay City Council).

2016 judges were Kelly Gellatly, Director, The Ian Potter Museum of Art and Simon Maidment, Senior Curator of Contemporary Art, National Gallery of Victoria.

SCAP has featured some of the most exciting artists from around Australia. Previous recipients include Nathan Gray (2014, VIC), Eric Bridgeman (2013, NSW), Ash Keating (2012, VIC) and Jeremy Kibel (2011, VIC).


"¢ Lauren Brincat (NSW)
"¢ Laura Carthew (VIC)
"¢ Danica Chappell (VIC)
"¢ Sophie Clague (NSW)
"¢ Zoe Croggon (VIC)
"¢ Rachel Feery (VIC)
"¢ Tamsin Green (VIC)
"¢ Robert Hague (VIC)
"¢ Paul Handley (VIC)
"¢ Joy Ivill (NSW)
"¢ Deborah Kelly (NSW)
"¢ Laresa Kosloff (VIC)
"¢ Sonia Leber & David Chesworth (VIC)
"¢ Simon MacEwan (VIC)
"¢ Hermione Merry & Henriette Kassay-Schuster (VIC)
"¢ Phuong Ngo (VIC)
"¢ Naomi Nicholls (VIC)
"¢ Mira Oosterweghel (VIC)
"¢ Claudia Phares (VIC)
"¢ Michael Prior (VIC)
"¢ Jack Rowland (VIC)
"¢ Paul Sloan (VIC)
"¢ Nicholas Smith (VIC)
"¢ Kate Tucker (VIC)
"¢ Yandell Walton (VIC)
"¢ Lisa Waup (VIC)
"¢ Paul White (VIC)


Opening Night and Finalist Announcement: 8 September - 6.30pm to 10.00pm,
Exhibition: 8 September "“ 8 October, Tuesday to Saturday 11am "“ 5pm
Venue: The SUBSTATION, 1 Market Street Newport Cost: FREE

Information: www.thesubstation.org.au

Newsletter Sign Up

Join Our Growing Community

ART NEWS PORTAL is a global crowd sourced art news feed.
Everyone is welcome to share their art and culture related news.