[Art News]      [Submit]      [BOOST News]


BY Judy Chung | 02-Jun-2014
Australia’s premier short film festival, the St Kilda Film Festival awarded Director Dave Wade and Producer Alexandra BlueBest Short Film for Welcome to Iron Knob at the Closing Night Awards last night, Saturday 31 May. As St Kilda Film Festival is an ACADEMY AWARDS® qualifying event, Welcome to Iron Knob is now eligible for consideration in the OSCARS® Short Film Awards.

Held at the St Kilda Town Hall and proudly presented by the City of Port Phillip, 15 prestigious titles were awarded along with more than $40,000 worth of cash and prizes.

From an increasingly competitive field of entrants, Best Director was awarded to Victoria Thaine for The Kingdom of Doug and Best Actor taken out by Ed Oxenbould for his stellar performance in The Amber Amulet.

Emo (The Musical) went home with three awards, including Best Comedy, Best Original Score and the Craft Award.

The 31st St Kilda Film Festival has now drawn to a close with Festival Director Paul Harris proud to provide the most comprehensive overview of the national short film industry.

"The St Kilda Film Festival continues to live up to its reputation as Australia's premier short film festival, recognising and awarding local filmmakers of all levels of experience.

"We were delighted to present a jam-packed 10-day program, featuring Australia's Top 100 short films, music videos, archival screenings, youth programs, filmmaker development forums as well as an international showcase from Palm Springs International ShortFest," said Mr Harris.


Best Short Film

Welcome to Iron Knob
Director: Dave Wade
Producer: Alexandra Blue

Craft Award

Emo (The Musical)
Director: Neil Triffett
Producer: Lee Matthews

Best Documentary

Director: Jilli Rose
Producer: Katrina Mazurek, Jilli Rose

Best Animation

The Gallant Captain
Director: Katrina Mathers, Graeme Base
Producer: Katrina Mathers, Merrin Jensen, Daryl Munton, Patrick Sarell

Best Comedy

Emo (The Musical)
Director: Neil Triffett
Producer: Lee Matthews

Best Director

Victoria Thaine - The Kingdom of Doug

Best Actor

Ed Oxenbould – The Amber Amulet

Best Achievement in Cinematography

Maxx Corkindale - Welcome to Iron Knob

Best Achievement in Screenplay

Joel Russell & Marcus Hamill - Dog Save the Queen
Best Achievement in Production Design
Glenn Turner – Maiden

Best Original Score

Neil Triffett - Emo (The Musical)

Best Achievement in Sound Post-Production

Tony Vaccher and John Dennison - The Landing

Best Achievement in Visual Effects

Don Percy – Makeover

Best Achievement in Editing

Christian Barratt-Hill - The Amber Amulet

Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking

Aboriginal Heart
Director: Michelle Blanchard
Producer: Tim Duncan

Best Youth Film

Where Do Lilacs Come From
Director: Matthew Thorne
Producer: Timothy Ward

SBS Television Award

The Kingdom of Doug
Director: Victoria Thaine
Producer: Naomi Mulholland

The St Kilda Film Festival will now embark on a regional tour of Victoria to present highlights of the Festival, helping audiences in remote locations access diverse screen culture.