[Art News]      [Submit]      [BOOST News]


BY Judy Chung | 27-May-2014
Proudly presented by the City of Port Phillip, the St Kilda Film Festival, Australia's premier short film festival, has today announced the 2014 award nominees that are in the running for 15 prestigious titles and more than $40,000 worth of cash and prizes.

As an ACADEMY AWARDS® qualifying event, the winner of the Best Short Film is eligible for consideration in the OSCARS® Short Film Awards with nominees including: Welcome to Iron Knob, Sticky, Emo (The Musical), The Kingdom of Doug and The Amber Amulet.

From an increasingly competitive field of entrants, nominations for Best Director include: Victoria Thaine (The Kingdom of Doug), David Wade (Welcome to Iron Knob), Neil Triffit (Emo (The Musical)) and Matthew Salleh (Pablo's Villa).

As Australia's oldest and largest short film festival, Festival Director Paul Harris is proud to recognise, support and celebrate Australian filmmaking talent.

"The St Kilda Film Festival provides the most comprehensive overview of the national short film industry. These nominations recognise and award local filmmakers of all levels of experience and we look forward to unveiling the winners," said Mr Harris.

The 2014 winners will be announced at the St Kilda Film Festival's Closing Night Awards on Saturday 31 May at the St Kilda Town Hall.


Best Short Film

Welcome to Iron Knob
Emo (The Musical)
The Kingdom of Doug
The Amber Amulet

Craft Award

Please Don't Rush
Pablo's Villa
Emo (The Musical)
The Gallant Captain

Best Documentary

Pablo's Villa
Tofu Man
My Favourite Things: A Story by Hennock

Best Animation

The Video Dating Tape of Desmondo Ray, Ages 33 & ¾
The Gallant Captain
Second Chance

Best Director

Victoria Thaine – The Kingdom of Doug
David Wade – Welcome to Iron Knob
Neil Triffett – Emo (The Musical)
Matthew Salleh – Pablo's Villa

Best Comedy

A Writer and Three Script Editors Walk into a Bar
Welcome to Iron Knob
Welcome to Dookie
Emo (The Musical)

Best Actor

Tristan Maxwell – Sam's Gold
Louise Siversen – The Kingdom of Doug
Ed Oxenbould – The Amber Amulet
Shane Connor – Man
Laura Wheelwright – The Kingdom of Doug

Best Achievement in Cinematography

Brad Francis - Man
Clare Plueckhahn - Horseplay
Maxx Corkindale - Welcome to Iron Knob
Edward Goldner - The Kingdom of Doug
Jody Muston - Can You See Them?

Best Achievement in Screenplay

Joel Russell & Marcus Hamill - Dog Save the Queen
Yolanda Ramke - Cargo
Dave Wade - Welcome to Iron Knob

Best Achievement in Production Design

Charlie Shelley - The Landing
Stephanie Stamatis, Debbie Mackinnon and Katrina
Meletopolulo - Can You See Them?
Laura Aghajanian - The Misfortunes of Others
Glenn Turner – Maiden

Best Achievement in Editing

Sean Lahiff - Welcome to Iron Knob
Christian Barratt-Hill - The Amber Amulet
Marty Gilchrist - We Keep on Dancing

Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking

Aboriginal Heart
Cannibal Story (Ngayurnangalku)

SBS Television Award

Emo The Musical
Test Drive
The Kingdom of Doug

Best Youth Film

Where Do Lilacs Come From
The Man With the Many Umbrellas
Crossing Paths

The St Kilda Festival continues until Saturday 31 May 2014 at The Palais and The Astor Theatre and showcases exceptional films by emerging artists while providing a colourful insight into Australia's talented short film industry.